Skip to main content
All CollectionsAccountPlans
Upgrade or Downgrade Your Plan
Upgrade or Downgrade Your Plan
Peter Novosel avatar
Written by Peter Novosel
Updated over a week ago

As the needs of your organization change, so can your SmartSuite plan. A growing business might find the need to add more users, more capacity, and lots of automation to streamline your work. SmartSuite is there for you; modify your plan at any time.

NOTE: You can only change your Workspace billing plan if you have the Account Administrator role. If you are not an Account Administrator, please reach out to one of your Workspace admins to make the change for you.


Working with your SmartSuite subscription plan

See plan options

SmartSuite offers a number of different plans, each having a set of supported features and limits. You can see available plans and pricing at smartsuite.com/pricing.

Administrators are also able to view plans, features and pricing from the plan selector in SmartSuite. Just follow these steps:

  1. Log in as a Member (with the Administrator role).

  2. Click on your user profile icon in the upper-right hand corner of the SmartSuite interface to open your user profile options.

  3. Click Workspace Administration in the menu.

  4. Select the Plans & Billing tab.

  5. If you are currently on a Trial plan, click the Choose a Plan button to get started!

  6. If you have an existing paid plan, select the Change Plan link to view plan options.

Select a new plan

When you click the Choose a Plan button or Change Plan link, you will be presented with a dialog that allows you to pick the SmartSuite plan that's right for you. Your current plan's selector is disabled if you already have a paid plan.

Follow these steps to pick your plan:

  1. Select Pay Monthly or Pay Annually (remember that paying annually gives you a discounted price!)

  2. Select your desired plan by clicking on it - the price per user will be displayed.

  3. Finally, click Continue to Checkout to confirm your selection and pay applicable fees.

Plan upgrades

If you upgrade your plan (i.e. move from Team to Professional or Professional to Enterprise), your plan will change immediately after confirmation.

You will be billed for the prorated difference between your current plan's cost and the cost for your new plan through the end of your subscription term (the month or the annual renewal date).

Plan downgrades

If you downgrade your plan (i.e. move from Enterprise to Professional or Professional to Team), your plan will switch at the conclusion of your current subscription term.

For example, if you are on a Professional subscription with monthly billing and downgrade to Team Edition, you will still have the features and capabilities of Professional Edition until the end of your monthly billing cycle. After that point, your plan will change to Team Edition, and your billing cost will change accordingly.

Moving a Paid Workspace to the Free Plan

Using the plan downgrade process described above, you can choose to move your paid Workspace to the free plan. There are several things to keep in mind if you do convert your paid plan to free:

  1. Your paid plan will stay active until the end of your current billing period.

  2. When your paid period is up, the account will automatically convert to the Free plan.

  3. Free plan restrictions will apply to the Workspace at that time.

  4. If you have more than 3 active Members at the time your account switches to the Free plan, those additional Members will be inactivated.

Members are selected to remain active in the following manner:

  1. The Account Owner (the Administrator who originally created the account) will remain active.

  2. Users with the Account Administrator role will then be selected to remain active, in the order that they were created.

  3. If there is only one (or zero) additional Administrators, the first Member created that has the Creator role will be selected.

  4. If there are no Creator role Members, General role Members will be selected in the order they were created.

By switching to the Free plan you will also have the following limits on your Workspace:

  • Limit of 3 Members

  • Limit of 5 Solutions

  • 1,200 records per Solution

  • 100MB file storage

  • 14 day recycle bin retention

Did this answer your question?